Bowling Dates

October 26, 2006

bowling pin and bowling ball

I am a recreational bowler that  bowls maybe one to two times a year, unless I get involved with an organization that requires I do it on a regular basis. For instance, I had worked with an autistic lad as a TSS(Therapeutic Staff Support) where I would carry out therapeutic activities with him several times a week. Scott, as I shall refer to him, was involved with his schools bowling team. So one time a week for several months I would go bowling with him. Scott, his school aide and I would bowl about three games each time. This was by far the most bowling I had done in many years, and sober at that. Amazingly, I can barely break 100 while bowling sober. Give me a few drinks, and I can bowl a consistent 125 or so. My all time high game while in the military of 160+ was done while looped. While bowling sober with Scott, I did beat him several times, but he out scored me more often than not.

About the that time or soon after the league ended, I tried my hand at Internet dating, and had several bowling dates at the very same Jordan Lanes in Allentown, PA.  Both dates were very memorable, and I would do again. The first was with a very fascinating lady that was different each time we went out. The second was with Lizzie who is my significant other to this day. Lizzie and I have bowled a number of times since then, but only with kids, not as a date. Kids love bowling too, and it is a great activity that the whole family can enjoy.

Some of my earliest bowling memories are of bowling with my grandparents, who had both been involved in bowling leagues in Cleveland. Numerous times my grandmother would give me advice on how to bowl. These bowling outings, however, usually ended in frustration because I would not do things grandmas way. We are a bunch of hard headed Hungarians.

Bowling alleys are very accommodating, and will go out of their way to help people like Scott or youngsters like my kids. If everyone is able to have a good time, you are more likely to come back and bowl again. There is nothing wrong with using a ramp for a ball if you are unsteady, and gutter guards, which are devices that keep the balls from going into the gutters can be used on select lanes. Anyway, the concluding thought for this post is, if you are looking for something to do, bowling is a great activity for everyone to do at least a couple of times a year. So no matter your physical condition, get out there and bowl…the exercise will do you good.

Bowling ball and Pin

Leave a Reply

